Police on horses; police on bikes; skating starts; hole in bridge repaired; a new bridge; camera on coyotes and foxes; glass jars dumped; fundraising going well; my appearance at City Hall

5th December

Horse visit to park confirmed

In my last post, I surmised that police horses had visited the park. Well, on 27th November I got an email from Leora Davidson with this photo of police on horses at the Ava Rd entrance. My spies are everywhere!

Horses in park 27th Nov 2023

Police on bikes

Then on 4th December I observed these officers training on their bicycles at the arena parking lot.They gave permission to be photographed and this guy thanked me for my litter cleaning efforts:

IMGP1850

Here is the whole group:

IMGP1852

Outdoor skating rink opens

The winter skating season is off to a good start:

IMGP1847

These lone figures were recently snapped through the wire fence:

IMGP1848

This guy was practising shots at goal:

IMGP1849

Broken board in wooden bridge replaced

On 14th November, I had noticed this hole in the small wooden bridge between the Glen Cedar and Bathurst St bridges:

IMGP1812

Just recently, I observed that the broken plank had been replaced;

IMGP1857

I had intended to call 311 but someone else must have called it in and it was quickly repaired:

IMGP1856

New wooden “bridge”

Opposite the junction between the main path  and that off to Suydam Park and Spadina Rd, there has always been an informal “bridge”; leading to an informal path going up to the extension of Londsdale Rd. It had gone missing, but was recently replaced by this much-improved “bridge”:

IMGP1834

Camera records coyote and fox movements for UofT project

This camera has been in place for some time. It picks up movements by passing coyotes and foxes (and no doubt other animals and birds as well):

IMGP1837

Here is the notice that accompanies it:

IMGP1860

Is this a good use for the blue recycling container?

Somebody recently dumped a whole pile of glass jars in the recycling container at the Glenayr exit (which is often missed by the garbage truck crews, as noted in an earlier post):

IMGP1839

Several of them had got broken when dropped in the container and had dangerous broken glass edges. This bin has now been emptied.

Fundraising going well

Our fundraising campaign is going well. So far, we have raised almost $1,400 from 19 donors.  Canada Helps was by far the most popular route, with 12 donations;  5 came by e-transfer and 2 by cheque. Keep ’em coming!

My appearance at City Hall

On Wednesday 29th November, I appeared before the Committee of Adjustment at City Hall to plead the case of these magnificent oak trees at the back of Heathdale Rd:

IMGP1831

More in my next blog post.

John Cummings