The red-wing blackbirds are here!

3rd April: The red-winged blackbirds arrived some time ago, announcing themselves with their characteristic “Konkaree” song. I took this photo on 24th March in the cat-tail wetland just east of the Bathurst St bridge:

Cedarvale Red-winged blackbird 001

I also heard my first song-sparrow song about the same time. The robins were here even earlier. Now many more birds are arriving. I hear songs that I don’t recognize (where are you Ken Morin?).

On Saturday 1st April, I was happy to witness preparations for planting in the former Children’s, now Community Garden. See announcement under “Upcoming Events”.

I will hasten to post this, as my computer is acting up and my access to it is limited.

Don’t forget: Cleanup Day Sunday 23rd April, meet 10 am under Glen Cedar footbridge; tree planting with Parks, Saturday 29th April, meet 10 am in Phil White Arena parking lot – there will be signs to the planting site; Environment Day Sunday 30th April 10 am to 2 pm Wychwood Barns. Hope to see some of you at one or more of these events.

John Cummings

 

