Your Steering Committee hard at work!

Some time ago, I had noticed that someone was camping in the secluded area behind the subway station. Heavy drinking was also going on, judging from the number of beer cans and spirits bottles I retrieved from the area. After a while, the tent was abandoned, left open for the rain to soak into the  sleeping bag and mattress inside and clothing draped over nearby trees. I duly notified the park supervisor, but nothing happened.

On Sunday 8th December, Ivor and I decided to take matters into our own hands. We went in and dragged out the tent and mattress, leaving them beside the garbage and recycling containers on Heath St West/Tichester Rd.

Around noon the following Tuesday I noticed that both tent and mattress had been removed. As Mr Bush was wont to say, “Mission Accomplished”! 

John Cummings

